.

Would You Want a Tattoo Parlor on the East End?

There are currently no tattoo parlors on the North and South forks.

With not one tattoo parlor on the North or South forks of Long Island, those seeking body art head out west frequenting popular tattoo places like Cliff's in Centerach, Tattoo Lou's of Selden and Long Island Ink in Patchogue.

Patch wants to know: Should their be a tattoo parlor on the East End on Long Island?

Post your response below.

Beth February 23, 2012 at 06:00 PM
That would be awesome, however, tattoos are so expensive here on Long Island, I will still head to Virginia to get mine.
Amanda Smith February 23, 2012 at 06:00 PM
I'd love to see one out here. But like a lot of places around here, think about the prices they'd charge to have to keep up with their rent. The economy still isn't great so many tattoo enthusiasts may be willing to keep going west for a better deal. I personally am just dedicated to a particular artist and I know a lot of people feel the same. It would be interesting to see.
Erin Schultz February 23, 2012 at 06:41 PM
Lesus Mor-Band said on Facebook: "Bring it!!!"
Anne Marie February 23, 2012 at 07:10 PM
Why are your kids impulsive? I know full well that I wasn't... I would've been the recipient of a flying shoe coming down the matriarchal line. I learned... quickly.
Virgin Steele February 23, 2012 at 08:24 PM
yep!
Jerry Can February 23, 2012 at 08:27 PM
It would be alright. But as someone else mentioned, could it be economically viable?
Preliator February 23, 2012 at 08:36 PM
Well Jerry that is what the free market and capitalism is all about, you need to try and see if it works though with the changing face of America we could have the great tattoo bailout soon. I mean Congress under President Obama passed a law mandating all citizens have or purchase health insurance, why not a law making us all get tattoos, it is not really that different.
Taylor K. Vecsey (Editor) February 23, 2012 at 09:17 PM
On East Hampton Patch's Facebook: Velaine Brown-Pfund Ummm how can I put this nicely??? HECK NO!!!!!!! Not that I dont say one shouldnt have a tattoo....just dont want to attract the types who consider tatoos stamps and not Art work...Tattoo parlors like chain restaurants and stores are best left up island. If someone wants to go to one, travel there. Brett Gilbert: Yes. Those who seek this completely legal service should have relatively convenient access to it. Richard Osterberg Jr.: Sure! Why not? What's wrong with tattooed people? Then local people don't have to drive up island to get them. Its unfortunate that narrow minded people still hold a grudge against tattooed people. This isn't the 1950's. The difference between tattooed people and not tattooed people is that tattooed people don't care if you don't have a tattoo.
Vin Ricciardi February 23, 2012 at 09:46 PM
Absolutely. Feather Hill plaza in Southold would be the perfect spot.
paquatuck February 23, 2012 at 10:11 PM
Maybe in Sag Harbor? He/she could specialize in Ishmael and whale tatoos...there are so many artistic people in the area...
Patricia Burrows February 23, 2012 at 11:51 PM
No, No, and, Oh Yeah....NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Sparkie the Fire Girl February 24, 2012 at 01:04 AM
Hell yeah. Ive lived on the East Coast and the west coast and every where in between-and Eastern Long island (the Hamptons) is the only place that is void of tattoo studios... (back in the day as kids we'd hop on the LIRR and have to get inked in the City).... The Hamptons is infested with yoga studios though. People in the Hamptons find tattoos distasteful? Offensive? Not "CLASSY"? Well i find middle aged women in spandex with camel toes at yoga studios distasteful and offensive-Dont worry a tattoo shop on Main Street won't bring down your property value.
Lady L February 24, 2012 at 12:28 PM
EN OH: NO!
Walter Noller February 24, 2012 at 01:05 PM
As the economy goes, so goes the environment. The area is being allowed to change and not for the better (save for south of the hwy.) however, I think Kevin is secretly hoping for the OTB and Amagansett strip club, Of course a TV show based on "Hampton's Pawn" could be a good thing for the area... I can hear it now.. "How much will you give me for my Bentley?"
Pat February 24, 2012 at 01:55 PM
Teenagers are not allowed to get a tattoo. It is illegal.
Pat February 24, 2012 at 01:59 PM
Why not?
Bill Graham February 24, 2012 at 03:26 PM
I agree, why not.. I might be the first to open one!
John jones February 24, 2012 at 05:36 PM
Holy cow! I just commented that the sak's building would be a great spot for a very nice tattoo parlor/head shop of the finest quality!
Walter Noller February 24, 2012 at 07:41 PM
The billiard parlor on Springs-Fireplace Rd. didn't make it, perhaps ahead of it's time. With the "My Redeneck Vacations-the Hamptons" on reality TV, the more I like the idea of Hampton's Pawn where you can get "a Tiffany Tiara for ten cents on the dolla'"... Would a program "Tat's of the rich and famous" be far behind?
Tom Friedman February 24, 2012 at 09:32 PM
Hey, why not. It could go in Surf Lodge. Whatever they ask for they seem to get anyway.
Karen Blakeley February 24, 2012 at 10:22 PM
It is in the interest of the town to keep such establishments out of this area. People come to East Hampton, etc because of the standards placed regarding the face of our town maintained over the years. No McDonald's, no Burger King, or other chains are allowed. Our town has changed very much in my lifetime, but it has held it's unique character. It is not about money, but about being in the country by the ocean, and away from the usual businesses found in most towns across the nation. This is why many people come to "the Hamptons." Adding Tatoo chains would diminish the character of this area just like a McDonald's or other chain businesses. I don't see many people complaining about finding a Burger King on the east end and I don't believe we would be hurting our locals or visitors by negating the addition of a tattoo parlor in East Hampton or Amagansett. Let's maintain the integrity of this beautiful community and support our local people by doing so. This is not a discussion about whether you agree with tattoo's, but about keeping our town unique.
Ralebird February 24, 2012 at 11:01 PM
Most tattoo establishments are individually owned and operated, not chains - so it looks like you have no objection then, right? P.S.: Ever been to Southampton? There are both a McDonald's (shudder) and a Burger King (the horror, oh the horror) within walking distance of downtown.
Karen Blakeley February 24, 2012 at 11:47 PM
I was married in EH and my reception was in South Hampton 26 years ago. Tattoo establishments spread like chains. That is my opinion, no shuddering necessary gj. Again, this is not a discussion about my opinions on who has a tattoo, it is about keeping our town unique. I respect your opinions, and I am not against change, I am just trying to express my opinion about maintaining the value of what makes our town unique.
Penny Benbenek February 26, 2012 at 06:46 PM
The Land of No...still reigns. Unless, of course, it's beneficial to the special interests & the wealthy. Look, there's STILL a 7-11 in Montauk and "the End" didn't detach & float away for parts unknown. Your children will still get a tattoo and/or a piercing(s), if they really want one & are of age to consent. It's just a run up the island. To imply that such an establishment will bring a certain species of undesirables or clientele' to the area, is speculation & discrimination. The same was said about 7-11. If you don't want a tattoo or piercing, you just don't go to there. You don't like Chinese food...you don't buy it. You have a choice. I'd rather have the $$ spent in our local economy & a reputable shop(s) set up, rather than people tattooing in their homes, not regulated by the Board of Health. Yes, parents, it's being done in people's homes locally. I'd rather know my loved ones aren't gonna get Hepatitis because they didn't have a legitimate place to go. Where there's a will, there's a way.
Penny Benbenek February 26, 2012 at 06:53 PM
And btw...Starbuck's is a chain. And what about all the "pop-up" shops?
forward thinking February 26, 2012 at 07:38 PM
only if i get a freebe
forward thinking February 26, 2012 at 07:41 PM
i agree - the best
Walter Noller February 26, 2012 at 09:16 PM
Well, said. 7-11 winds up being the only place left open when other food services decide to close the same time, leaving others in Montauk nowhere to eat. And the health issue should be paramount to any concerns it would "ruin" the neighborhood. I find it amazing Tiffany, Coach, Ralph L., London, Starbucks and all the others have destroyed the mom and pop businesses and to see all the rent/sale signs goes to the fact greed becomes the deciding factor, outpricing small businesses from opening in town. If you're so worried a tattoo parlor will "ruin" town, open one in Springs. We can always use more commerce. In fact, we already have a few "body shops", what's one more?
Tom February 28, 2012 at 05:39 PM
Lets continue the not in my backyard mentality so we can keep our community as puritan minded as possible...not. We need to spur economic growth in every community or accept losing any real tax base to offset our overly taxed property owners. Vacationability, we have no vacationability on long island...there is nothing to do for tourist.!!!
Alexa May 23, 2012 at 12:09 PM
Most definitely! I see no reason not to welcome more individually owned businesses on the east end.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something