.

Winter Seal Walk Dates Set at Cupsogue

The program is run by The Coastal Research & Education Society of Long Island.

Credit: File photo
Credit: File photo

Seal walks at Cupsogue Beach are back.

The Coastal Research & Education Society of Long Island has announced its schedule for the winter walks, which are now underway.

The society's one-mile walks, which last about 2 hours, provide an opportunity to see harbor and gray seals up close.

Harbor and gray seals are historically abundant in Long Island waters, but in recent years, the society said, there have been spotting of rare “arctic” species such as harp, hooded, and ringed seals.

The walks, which are suitable for children, start at the western end of the Cupsogue parking lot and participants are asked to arrive 15 minutes early.

Pre-registration is required for the walks and can be made online by clicking here or by calling (631) 244-3352. There is a suggested donation of $5 for adults and $3 for children under 12. All donations will be used to support the society. Seal walk season passes are also available and start at $30 for two people. 

The following is the Seal Walk Schedule: 

  • Saturday, December 14, 2013 - 10:00 a.m   
  • Sunday, December 15, 2013  - 11:00 a.m   
  • Saturday, December 28, 2013 - 9:00 a.m  
  • Sunday, December 29, 2013  - 9:30 a.m   
  • Saturday, January 11, 2014 - 9:00 a.m   
  • Sunday, January 12, 2014 - 9:30 a.m   
  • Saturday, January 25, 2014 -  8:30 a.m   
  • Sunday, January 26, 2014  - 9:00 a.m   
  • Saturday, February 08, 2014 -  8:30 a.m   
  • Sunday, February 09, 2014 - 9:00 a.m   
  • Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 1:00 p.m   
  • Sunday, February 16, 2014 - 1:30 p.m   
  • Sunday, February 23, 2014 - 8:30 a.m   
  • Saturday, March 01, 2014 - 12:00 p.m   
  • Sunday, March 02, 2014 -  1:00 p.m   
  • Sunday, March 09, 2014 - 8:30 a.m   
  • Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 1:00 p.m   
  • Sunday, March 16, 2014  - 1:00 p.m   
  • Sunday, March 23, 2014 - 8:00 a.m   
  • Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 12:00 p.m   
  • Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 1:00 p.m   
  • Saturday, April 05, 2014 - 3:00 p.m   
  • Saturday, April 12, 2014 -  11:00 a.m   
  • Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 12:00 p.m   
  • Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 3:00 p.m.   
  • Saturday, April 26, 2014 -  11:00 a.m   
  • Sunday, April 27, 2014 - 11:30 a.m 


Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something